jump to navigation

Halloween Horror Countdown Pt. 3 October 4, 2008

Posted by vorpalkeith in Movie Review.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

MASTERS OF HORROR: HOMECOMING

“Why don’t we just ignore them?  You know, treat them like we do ordinary veterans.”

That line is a suggestion by a political speechwriter in regards to dealing with the reanimated corpses of soldiers recently killed in action.  They have come back to life for the improbable purpose of voting in this chapter of Showtime’s Masters of Horror series.  Turns out they’re not too happy about having died in a war which they’ve determined was a lie.

The fact that this is a direct statement about modern politics is obvious.  There are characters in this that are rather flimsy representations of Karl Rove, Anne Coulter, and George Bush.  That’s where I think this falls a little flat.  I think it would have been a bit more effective if they’d tried to be a bit more generalized and cut back the camp value.  I remember hearing an interview with one of the producers of MASH once where he was asked if the show was about the Vietnam war, and he responded by saying that he saw it as being about all wars.  I think it would have been more effective if they’d taken that approach here.

That said, this is almost like two films, because the moments where this episode attempts to be genuine and drop the satire and stunningly poignant.  There’s a scene in a diner where a married couple comforts one of the reanimated soldiers who had been caught in the rain.  It reinforces what I would say the REAL theme of this piece is, a question about how we treat our veterans and an indictment of anyone who wouldn’t.

The satire bits I give 2 spooky pumpkins out of 5.

The genuine bits I give 4 spooky pumpkins out of 5.

THE EVIL DEAD

Damn you, Sam Raimi.  You’ve made me love a movie that involves a woman getting raped by a tree.

I’ve now seen all of the chapters in the Evil Dead series.  I just watched them backwards.  There’s very little I can say about this film that hasn’t been said better by people smarter than me, so I’ll just say I liked it.

Also, Bruce Campbell, by the amount of gore that gets thrown in his face, is the hardest working man in show business.

I give it 4 spooky pumpkins out of 5.

Comments»

1. Heath - October 12, 2008

Admit it. That tree rape scene was hot.


Leave a Reply

