jump to navigation

Brought to You By The Letters B-E-E-R February 22, 2009

Posted by vorpalkeith in Life The Universe and Everything.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I dedicate this post to beer in that over the weekend I’ve drank more of it than I have on any previous weekend in my life. Which isn’t to say I drank a lot, because I didn’t. I’m not a drinker, and even if I was I wouldn’t be a beer guy.

But Friday night was about brewing. Christian brews beer at home with his friends Mike and Kevin and this was the first time they’d brewed in a year, so me being the helpful roommate that I am, tagged along and learned a bit about the process. You can read a bit more about that on Christian’s blog. There’s a link over there —->

Then on Saturday Christian, Kevin and I took a tour of the Sprecher brewery. If you’re in Milwaukee you kind of have to, cause it’s the most magical place on Earth. A bit like touring Willy Wonka’s factory (not really). I sampled me many a flavor and confirmed my previous suspicions that I’m not really a beer guy. The part I like was I got to sample the whole array of Sprecher’s gourmet sodas, which is where they make the bulk of their profits. Now that’s some good beverage there!

After the tour and a stick of gum I had my interview with the Marcus Corporation. I will know Wednesday if they are going to deploy, er, employ me or not.

We had spaghetti for dinner after that. Now that’s a spicy meatball!

As a final parting though I leave you with this link to a news story from Fox.

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,497212,00.html

London’s Daily Telegraph greeted readers Friday morning with photos of what appeared to be a gigantic serpent wending its way down a tropical river, said to be somewhere on the Southeast Asian island of Borneo, “sparking great concern among local communities.”

Does it make me a bad person that I wish I lived in a world where their were giant creatures such as serpents? Or Loch Ness Monsters? Or other huge monsters of Harryhausen-like proportions? Cryptozoology, for being a pseudoscience, is still pretty neat.

Just don’t send that link to my mother. She’d freak right out.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

