jump to navigation

Remember Them June 6, 2009

Posted by vorpalkeith in Life The Universe and Everything.
Tags:
trackback

~A Quiet Place~

 

It’s quiet here … so quiet

Standing on this hill

But if I stand here too much longer

My eyes with tears will fill

Looking down … I’m there again

On that beach just down below

Far different … to that morning

That I remember so

That beach … it was a hell on earth

Where no man should ever go

I remember

I was down there

I should know

Don’t cry now … dear old soldier

That was many years ago

 

– Tony Chapman

 

Until the ending of your days.  Always remember.

June 6, 1944.

D-Day.

The day heroes stood, and fought, and bled; for all.  Their future is our future.  All futures, any future; their future.

 

Comments»

1. Barb - June 7, 2009

Very nice. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

