jump to navigation

Science, Star Wars, and So Forth August 6, 2009

Posted by vorpalkeith in science.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

This week in Robotics . . .

“Three employees of Japan’s Cyberdyne robotics company recently demonstrated a new “people-assisting” device: an exoskeleton that could help injured or disabled people walk. The system is called “HAL 5,” and three prototypes of the technology paraded through Tokyo this week.”

http://io9.com/5329164/the-cyborg-exoskeletons-of-the-future-take-to-the-streets

Am I the only one just a little disturbed that the company is called Cyberdyne and the robot bits are named HAL? Macabre sense of humor to be sure.

Photobucket

 

Guess I should probably announce this sooner rather than later.  My friend Ryan King and I are soon going to launch STALE POPCORN, a webcomic about life in a movie theater.  I’ll keep you updated here about the project as it moves forward.   We’ve got bunches of ideas, so it should be a fun ride. 

Something else I wanted to get out there was a link to this article on theforce.net entitled “Young Padawan Needs Our Help”

“Dear Friends,

A friend of mine I went to high school with recently found out her 3 year old daughter has Cancer. Her name is Maddie and she is just adorable. It breaks my heart to see anyone, especially young children have to suffer through chemo treatments and long hospital stays. The parents ( Kelly & Ray ) are having a hard time making ends meet. Kelly has depleted her leave and is not drawing a salary. The ambulance ride alone was more than $3K, which is not covered by health insurance.

They are having a benefit at the Taberg Legion ( Taberg, New York ) on September 12th for Maddie. If there is ANYTHING you could donate for the raffles, that would be wonderful. Here is a recent update from her grandmother.”

http://www.theforce.net/latestnews/story/Young_Padawan_Needs_Our_Help_125461.asp

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a strong supporter of the 501st Stormtrooper Legion, what they do, and their work with children’s charities. There’s a reason I link to the 501st site off of this blog. I have a friend in the Legion and hope to join a garrison myself some day. This is right in their wheelhouse and I felt a duty to spread the word.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

