jump to navigation

Halloween Horror Countdown 2009 Day 8 October 14, 2009

Posted by vorpalkeith in Film Thing.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Cabin Fever
2002
Directed by Eli Roth

I don’t recall seeing anything like THAT on Boy Meets World!

The horror in this movie is something that has the potential to be genuinely frightening. It’s not a murderer, or a monster, or a murderous monster . . . it’s disease. In the end, there is nothing scarier than the idea of our own bodies betraying us. Trust me, I know from what I speak on this count.

It’s not a great movie, but it gets it right on the gore count.

I need to criticize it mostly for the last ten minutes, which are just a mess. I’m not entirely sure what was happening during it. For some reason the police had the main character, then he was dead by a river? A previously dead character (I swear we saw this guy’s entrails!) just wanders out of the woods only to die moments later. It’s just so all over the place that it ruined what had come before.

Also, if you should ever get a flesh-eating disease, don’t shave your legs. The results are oogy.

I give it two and a half spooky pumpkins out of five. It lost points for the last ten minutes.

Zombieland
2009
Directed by Ruben Fleischer

I’m not going to belabor this point, but this is the best comedy of 2009. There, I said it. Also, there are zombies and creative zombie kills. Also, lots of laughter. GO WATCH THIS MOVIE.

It gets my highest rating of the countdown so far, five spooky pumpkins out of five.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

