jump to navigation

“. . .” November 23, 2009

Posted by vorpalkeith in Uncategorized.
trackback

“There are no words.”
– Spider-Man, The Amazing Spider-Man, Volume 2, Issue 36

Eric would have gotten a kick out of the fact that I started this with a quote from a comic book . . .

That simple line, in the story, is uttered by our protagonist upon seeing the destruction on September 11th, 2001. The sheer emotional punch of that moment shut up even the most effusive of all comic book characters. I think it sums out how we all felt then.

It sums up how I’ve felt these past few days. Like a certain wall-crawling comic book character I’m not usually at a loss for words, but I don’t even know where to begin now. Not on this subject. I feel like I’ve been punched in the heart. One of my best friends has died.

On the evening of Thursday November 19th, my Trip co-host Ryan King called me, clearly emotionally and left me an urgent message telling me to call him back as soon as possible. When I finally got back to him he gave me the terrible news. Our friend and co-host, our brother, Eric Martin passed away in his sleep on November 18th 2009, a victim of a massive heart attack. He was only 36 years old.

Those who knew him will tell you how much of a benefit to the comic book fandom community he was. He hosted three podcasts (The Trip, DC Noise, and Comics Playground). He was active in The Comic Forums and would very often participate as a guest host on other podcasts.

I knew him well enough that I will always remember the conversations and laughter we had. Talks that stretched long into the dark hours of the night (us both being night owls). DC Comics . . . progressive rock . . . Battlestar Galactica . . . Doctor Who . . . The Prisoner . . . The Venture Brothers . . . . Even thinking of them now brings a lump to my throat.

The few of us that were privileged enough to know him truly well can tell you of a true friend. Someone who was always there for you. Who you could disagree with (and we disagreed about many fundamental things) but never fight with. They will tell you of his love for his little daughter, whom he adored more than anything.

I hope she knows that. Even as time fades the memories of their time together, I hope she knows just how much he loved her.

And that is Eric Martin. That is my friend. I cannot put it any other way than that, because as I said at the beginning, there are simply no words . . .

. . . no words but these. We love you Eric, and we’ll miss you.

Rest in peace.

Photobucket

Comments»

1. Barb - November 23, 2009

Beautifully said, Keith


Leave a Reply

