jump to navigation

The Rest of the Year in Movies May 27, 2010

Posted by vorpalkeith in Film Thing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I’ve found that for the most part I can’t make myself particularly excited about the bulk of the remainder of the year in films. I think we’re seeing the blow back from the writer’s strike in a big way. That said, I thought I’d go through a short list of the films that remain in this year that have me really excited and tell you why.

The A-Team – I’ll admit that I wasn’t particularly keen about the prospect of an A-Team film, but then I saw the trailer. This movie looks like big, stupid fun with a cast that rules. Joe Carnahan is directing this, and he does slick fun in a big way. I actually bought the new BA! That’s a major accomplishment in and of itself.

The Expendables – When I first heard about this flick I wondered if it was still the 1980s. In a good way! This. Looks. Badass!

Inception – I have high hopes for this as it could be my go-to movie this year. Christopher Nolan is a director that has yet to let me down and the idea of him taking on a deeply psychological and twisted story about dream thieves just makes me happy inside. Plus, look at that cast! Leonardo DiCaprio, Ellen Page, Michael Caine, Ken Watanabe, Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Class!

The Adjustment Bureau – I had no idea what this film was supposed to be until I saw the trailer. The idea of a fight against Kafkaesque forces who secretly pull the strings of the world to prove the value of free will is a solid science fictional concept, and the way it plays out in the trailer is truly intriguing. There have been some pretty good Phillip K. Dick adaptations already made (Blade Runner, Minority Report, and even Total Recall has some quality for all its cheese).

Solomon Kane – Technically this Robert E. Howard adaptation has already come out in Europe. That we haven’t been able to see it yet in the United States is a crime of the highest order! This looks like great fantasy filmmaking.

Love – I don’t really know what the movie is about and the TRAILER doesn’t clarify the matter much either. We know it has something to do with space, and it comes from the band Angels and Airwaves. The visuals look stunning, the music is awesome, will it be a good film? Time will tell.

Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World – I’m a bit nervous about this, as I don’t know if the fun of the comic can even translate into the film medium. That said, I have faith in Edgar Wright, and Ramona Flowers looks just perfect doesn’t she?

Tron: Legacy – I’m not sure how much of this is based on childhood nostalgia, but I’m looking forward to it. The trailer looked slick and stylish, and the below screen cap of Olivia Wilde has me enthralled.

Photobucket

Actually . . . scratch my initial thought. I AM looking forward to the rest of this year in movies.

Comments»

1. Christian Kocinski - May 27, 2010

Well, you are covered through the rest of the year.
Quite frankly, I’m glad that they went that direction with BA, do you REALLY want some dude coming in acting like Mr. T? It gave the film a little bit more of credibility.

Also, Inception is the first movie of Christopher Nolan’s that I actually think might be good… he’s done nothing BUT disappoint me.

Yeah, I said it… get over it!

The Expendables looks so so… it has potential, but I think it’s probably going to suck.

Tron Legacy though, now that I want to see.

2. Barb - May 29, 2010

Christian – The statement that Christopher Nolan has done nothing but disappoint you….well, it disappoints me. Really? You didn’t like Memento OR the Batman movies?? I find that just odd. Oh well, differences make the world go round, I suppose.

I’m looking forward to The A-Team and The Expendables. They both look like just plain fun movies. And Jason Statham is in The Expendables. 🙂

I also want to check out The Last Airbender, Predators, and Machete this year.

3. vorpalkeith - May 29, 2010

Oh shit! I forgot about Predators and Machete!

4. Barb - May 29, 2010

You forgot about the wrong Mexican!


Leave a Reply

