jump to navigation

Racing Thoughts September 7, 2010

Posted by vorpalkeith in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

In a sleepless night the other day I couldn’t get these words out of my head. I’m not a poet, but it was the only way to get them out of my body and to give me rest.

This poem is in a style I normally wouldn’t like. However, the style fit the subject matter . . . the racing thoughts associated with a manic episode.

RACING THOUGHTS
By Keith W. Cunningham

Someone stuck a needle of speed into my brain.

Opened the valve and my thoughts poured out past the filters that were never switched out.

Synaptic short-circuit.

Manic mental megadrumps.

Brains were never meant to run overclocked.

We ain’t computers. No factory machines.

Boom! Boom! Boom!

Firecracker ideas, half-remembered faces, dreams we killed and others we still cling to.

First loves. Lost loves. Hopes for future loves.

Lust.

And rage!

Shit. Shit. SHIT!

It’s going to be a long night and it’s just me and these walls and the valve won’t close.

Drywall is a horrible listener.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

