jump to navigation

Comic Dreams for 2011 December 20, 2010

Posted by vorpalkeith in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

These are the things that I want to see in the world of comics in 2011, in no particular order, and probably quite a bit rambly as I’m tired after a long work shift.

– More all ages books. We need them. The industry needs them. And I mean truly for all ages, multi-generational reading.

– Less comics optioned as movies. This may seem to be a bit hypocritical coming from me, and sure, it probably is. I just think there needs to be a bare minimum amount of time before something gets adapted. I believe Mark Millar’s Nemesis was in pre-production before the first issue had shipped? That is not a good situation.

– DC needs to do a quick reversal about what they’re doing to Roy Harper. Really. SERIOUSLY.

– The return of Brian K. Vaughn and Adrian Alphona to Runaways? Please?

– If the above is not possible can we get Brian K. Vaughn writing ANY comic again? Now that Ex Machina is over he has nothing hitting the stands and I’d hate to think we have lost him to Hollywood.

– Series’ need to be given more time before cancellation. It happens far too quickly, before a series even gets a chance to build its audience.

– More Rocket Raccoon please.

– The promise of new discovery. Some of my very favorite comics have been things that I didn’t expect. This is what I love. Finding treasures I didn’t know about before.

– No more so-called comic fans who don’t actually read comics. Yeah, I get that you watched the Iron Man movie, and that’s cool . . . but don’t go turning something I love into ironic fashion because it’s trendy at the moment.

– Most of all, seeing all of my comic book friends. ‘Nuff said.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

