jump to navigation

A Newer Hope May 16, 2011

Posted by vorpalkeith in Film Thing, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

The other day my friend Christian came to me with an interesting mental exercise to write a blog post about. Knowing me as the Star Wars fan that I am the question he put forth was this . . . assume that Star Wars had never been made, that it was sitting on a shelf for 30+ years and was being made today. Who would I cast in the film?

An unenviable task, to be sure, but I love a challenge. Fortunately, Christian let me off the hook on one count. I only had to recast people with human faces. C-3P0 and Vader can still clearly be voiced by Anthony Daniels and James Earl Jones respectively. Peter Mayhew can still obviously handle Chewbacca.

So that leaves humans.

I told him I would need a few days and here’s what I’ve come up with. And I even went and did some more obscure characters just for fun!

LUKE SKYWALKER

For the lead role of Luke Skywalker I picked acclaimed young British actor Andrew Garfield.  He is simply a fantastic actor.  You’ll next seem him in the big budget reboot The Amazing Spider-Man.

Photobucket

Photobucket

HAN SOLO

Nathan Fillion.  Too obvious?  Yes, it is.  But there’s a reason for that.

Photobucket

Photobucket

PRINCESS LEIA

Olivia Thirlby.  She’s talented.  She’s sassy.  And she’s sexy.  She’s been floating on the rim of lots of big projects for years now, but has never seemed to have found that one role that would shoot her into the stratosphere.

Photobucket

Photobucket

OBI WAN KENOBI

This was a tough call for me.  Who do you get that can replace the gentle wisdom of Alec Guiness?  Nobody really, so maybe do something unexpected.  I got to thinking that George Lucas originally wanted Toshiro Mifune to play the role of Obi Wan, and suddenly Ken Watanabe became a very viable candidate for me.

Photobucket       Photobucket

GRAND MOFF TARKIN

Another toughie, because you can never replace Peter Cushing.  But you can get another really great actor.  That is why I’ve picked Ben Kingsley.

Photobucket

Photobucket

OWEN LARS

This was one of the first people I thought of, before I did any of the main characters.  Stellan Skarsgard just feels right as the man who raised Luke Skywalker.

Photobucket

Photobucket

BERU LARS

Maybe I’m just thinking too much of her role in Almost Famous, but Frances McDormand seems appropriately maternal for a galaxy far, far away.

Photobucket

Photobucket

WEDGE ANTILLES

The man who eventually winds up with two Death Stars painted on the side of his X-Wing.  I have picked Scoot McNairy, who was excellent in the 2010 film Monsters.

Photobucket

Photobucket

ADMIRAL DODONNA

The rebel admiral who plans the defense of Yavin IV against the Death Star.  Who better than Donald Sutherland?

Photobucket

Photobucket

BIGGS DARKLIGHTER

Luke’s best friend from back on Tatooine eventually joined the rebellion and grew a pretty pimp mustache.  I can see Colin Hanks bringing and honesty and loyalty to this small but key part.

Photobucket

Photobucket

JEK PORKINS

Jek Porkins appeared on screen for about 30 second and became a legend.  He deserves to be cast!  I can think of no better choice than British funnyman James Corden.

Photobucket

Photobucket

DOCTOR EVAZON

AKA the guy who hassles Luke in the cantina and gets his arm chopped off.  Wouldn’t Andy Serkis fit just right?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

