jump to navigation

My DC: Launch Titles September 13, 2011

Posted by vorpalkeith in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Bear in mind that this is what I would do in Keith’s ideal DC. Not yours necessarily (would love to hear yours though). These are also back to the very beginning of things, and just the launch titles. DC themselves had 52, well I managed to do it in half that.

It should be noted that probably my biggest influences were the Bruce Timm/Dwayne McDuffie animated universe, The Long Halloween, and Christopher Nolan’s Batman films.

Here are the books:

Action Comics – This wouldn’t strictly speaking be a Superman book, even though Superman would be the main star. It would be an anthology style book which could cover any character in the DCU really, as long as it featured superheroes (this would be a great place for stories about Captain Atom and Firestorm for example). The Superman stories that appeared here would not be allowed to crossover with the current ongoing stories in the Superman book, but would of course be in continuity.

Detective Comics – This wouldn’t strictly speaking be a Batman book, even though Batman would be the main star. It would be an anthology style book which could cover any character in the DCU really, as long as the stories were mysteries (this would be a great place for stories about Slam Bradley, Detective Chimp or Elongated Man for example). The Batman stories that appeared here would not be allowed to crossover with the current ongoing stories in the Batman book, but would of course be in continuity.

Batman – Obviously.

Batman and Robin – This book could possibly more accurately be called Robin. Batman would be a definite feature though. The perspective character would be young Dick Grayson, being trained by Batman as a crime fighter. This could be a bit lighter, more fun book than the main Batman title as it’s through Grayson’s eyes.

Superman – Again obviously. I’ll speak a bit more about this in a further post.

Wonder Woman – Of course there should be a Wonder Woman book. I have a take on her that I like which I will be elaborating on in a later post, so look for that.

Flash – Barry Allen died saving the world. Now his protege Wally West (a sarcastic, highly metabolic, flirty, cocky nineteen year old) is the fastest man alive, defending Central City from the Rogues.

Green Lantern – My Green Lantern, and that of so many JLU fans also, is John Stewart (in the look where he has the shaved head and goatee and was all bad ass). He would be the Lantern of Sector 2814 and the one on the Justice League. I’m sorry Hal Jordan fans, but here’s something you’ll like . . .

Green Lantern Corps – Hal Jordan would have once been the Green Lantern of Sector 2814, but as the “greatest Lantern of them all” the Guardians of the Universe would have placed him in charge of an elite squad operating out of Oa. His squad would include Kilowog, Tomar-Re, Arisia, Boodika, Katma Tui, and Ch’p. Their supervising officer would be Salaak.

Green Arrow – Oliver Queen rocking the beard and a long bow, dealing out justice while training his teen sidekick (and in this iteration nephew, thus making it less of a Batman and Robin riff) Roy Harper, aka Arsenal. More on Arsenal in a later post.

Aquaman – I really mulled this one over for a bit, but than I came up with some ideas that I think could make Aquaman really fun. I will elaborate more in a further post.

Shazam! – An all-ages book that is also firmly within the continuity of the rest of the universe. Billy Batson is the one and only Captain Marvel, and no one else can Shazam! up.

Justice League – This would be THE keystone book of the line, where all of the most important stuff happened. There wouldn’t be event books, there would just be really important Justice League arcs. The idea would be that the League started out with a core group of the original seven, but has since expanded into a larger team. Not every character would be in every story, but they would be dispatched to hot points by the Watchtower. It could allow for some interesting combinations of characters put into situations together, and for the really big problems they would have to call in all League members. The roster would be Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, Flash, Martian Manhunter, Hawkgirl, Green Arrow, Aquaman, the Atom (Ryan Choi), Mr. Terrific (Michael Holt), Black Canary (Dinah Lance), Power Girl, Captain Atom, Black Lightning, Metamorpho, Firestorm, Red Tornado, Mr. Miracle, Animal Man, Plastic Man, Blue Devil (with a more mystically based origin than that of Hollywood stuntman) and Manitou Raven.

Justice Society – A period era book highlighting the first group of superheroes who are all gone now, and not coming back. They would have been shut down by McCarthyism much like in “Golden Age”. The roster would include Green Lantern (Alan Scott), Flash (Jay Garrick), Wildcat, Hawkman, Sandman, Dr. Fate, Dr. Mid-Nite, Starman, Hourman, Liberty Belle, Star-Spangled Kid, Atom (Al Pratt), Stripsey, Commander Steel, Black Canary (Dinah Drake), and Johnny Thunder.

Teen Titans – The world’s young heroes band together as they learn how to be heroes in their own right. The cast would include the characters that everyone is familiar with from the cartoon series so as to draw as many eyes as possible, plus the other teen heroes of the world. The roster would be Robin, Cyborg, Raven, Starfire, Beast Boy, Static, Terra, Arsenal, Stargirl, Cyclone, Aqualad (Kaldur’ahm), and Jakeem Thunder.

Blue and Gold – Booster Gold and Blue Beetle! Ted Kord runs a failing technology company when he isn’t the superhero Blue Beetle. His best buddy is the obnoxious glory-hounding superhero from the future, Booster Gold. It’s a buddy action comedy superhero book.

The Question – Vic Sage is the Question, defender of Bludhaven (rather than Hub City in Denny O’neill’s run). My take would be the conspiracy theorist nut from JLU. He was as his most entertaining there. Renee Montoya would still be a factor in the world of the question, a police detective, newly arrived from Gotham City. She would sort of become the Question’s Jim Gordon.

Adam Strange – Adam Strange is transported by mysterious zeta beam technology to this distant planet Rann, where he must become an adventuring space hero, wooing the lovely Alanna of Rann and becoming a man of two worlds.

Legion of Superheroes – This book is more of a concession to other people than part of my own ideal DC universe. I don’t really know much about the Legion, but it’s always been a part, so it makes sense to me that there would be. If there were a Superboy in the book though, it would NOT be a time traveling Kal-El.

War Stories – Like Action and Detective this would be an anthology style book with individual issues or arcs focusing on a different revolving cast of various characters such as Sergeant Rock and Easy Company, Haunted Tank, Unknown Soldier, the Blackhawks, Enemy Ace, the Losers, the War That Time Forgot, and any others.

Western Stories – Pretty much the same idea as War Stories, only these would be westerns and the revolving characters would be people like Jonah Hex, Scalphunter, Bat Lash, Vigilante, El Diablo, etc.

House of Secrets – Another anthology style book in the vein of War Stories and Western Stories, but here dealing with things of a supernatural nature. Stories involving Swamp Thing, John Constantine, Madame Xanadu, Deadman, Phantom Stranger, the Spectre, even the Endless.

Advertisements

Comments»

1. Harold Von Doom - September 13, 2011

So would there be crossovers, or would everything stay in it’s own book? How long would story arcs be? Any self contained stories?

I love the characters you picked. I like think 10X more than what DC’s doing.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: